New Year Nationals - Complete Results
Bradenton, FL
Share |

2022 new year nationals bracket race

Photo by Danny Hoff

After battling dew and fog over the first two days of the RT Promotions 7th Annual New Year Nationals at Bradenton Motorsports Park, winners have been crowned in GRE Signs Thursday racing action.
708 entries were whittled down to three pairs for the final rounds in the Box, No Box and Junior Dragster classes.

The Box final would feature the Camaro of local racer Travis Logan against the roadster of Jason McCandless, and both racers were knocking down .00 reaction times in route to the final round. Logan got the better reaction time, but a break out pass from Logan turned on the win light for McCandless.

Lucas Walker, a veteran in Footbrake competition, took his wheel standing ‘65 Mustang to the No Box win over Maverick Palmatier’s S-10 pick up in a final round decided by less than one thousandth of-a-second, as both racers put up 23-thousandth packages.

The Junior Dragster final pitted Matthew Peterson opposite Aaron Kinsey, and a red light from Peterson gave the automatic win light to Kinsey.


A partly cloudy Sunday afternoon played host to the overtime rounds of drag racing from a record attendance at the RT Promotions 7th Annual New Year Nationals, held at Bradenton Motorsports Park.

After the initial GRE Signs Thursday race took longer than expected to complete, the decision was made to combine the Space Coast Speed and Custom Friday and Right Trailers Saturday races into one, doubling the payout.

637 combined entries staged up in round one of Box, No Box and Junior Dragster classes Saturday afternoon, and just over 24 hours later, champions were crowned.

After a roadster versus door car Box final in the first race of the event, it seemed only fitting that two dragsters would match up to determine a $20,000 dollar winner on Sunday.

Tyler Bohannon, who claimed the Great American Guaranteed Million race win in 2021, would stage opposite Florida’s own Donovan Williams, a former New Year Nationals winner. Williams took the .008 to .016 reaction time advantage, but broke out by eight thousandths of-a-second, while Bohannon laid down a dial-in-matching 4.70 pass. This marked the second-straight New Year Nationals win for the JP Schuster-owned dragster, as Mike Matty Jr. claimed victory in it at last year’s event.

The No Box final featured a Kentucky versus Florida battle, as Laine Blackburn and his ‘63 Nova was pitted against home state racer Troy Stafford. Stafford, who advanced two entries to the semifinal round in the Bouldry Racing S-10, did the deed in the final with an 18-thousandths package to make Blackburn’s .033 reaction time ineligible, netting Stafford a $20,000 payday.

Staging in the final round of Junior Dragster for a $4,000 winner check would be Jaylee Soucy and Hayden Land. Jaylee had the reaction time advantage, and she combined it with a .02-over 7.95 on a 7.93 dial for the holeshot win over Land’s dead-on-the-dial 7.90 pass.

< < back > >