Ricks Powder Coating

Titan Powerglide Shifter

Penske Racing Shocks Midwest

Just-N-Time Button

Bracket Talk
Racer Profile Login
Weather Report
Yahoo Maps
Business Directory
Live Timing Directory
Racer Directory
Track Directory
Million Dollar Race
Big Buck Races
Article Archive
Article Search
"On the Road" with Luke Bogacki
Safety First
Tech Talk

NHRA South Central Division 4 Summit Racing Series Finals - Complete Results
Ennis, TX
Share |

The Team from Texas Motorplex dominated the team competition finishing nearly 20 points ahead of second place Royal Purple Raceway at the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Finals at Texas Motorplex. Max McGlothin won the Super Pro / Pro run off and will join Jake Howard, Jeff Hefler and Tony Davis in advancing to the Summit Racing Series National Championship in Pomona, Cali.

Racking up 83 points, the Motorplex team ran away from Royal Purple Raceway (64 points), Texas Raceway (50 points) and the eight other NHRA member tracks that brought teams to the event.

McGlothin first meet up with Daryl Hamlin Jr. in the Pro final round using a nice .008 second reaction time to take the early lead and the win in 6.488 seconds at 108.17 mph in his ’27 roadster. The win put McGlothin in a run off with Joe Chamberlain who won a close Super Pro final with Ray Dunaway. Chamberlain combined a .001 reaction time with a 5.626 second pass on a 5.62 dial to beat Dunaway who had a great .027 package of his own.

The run off was equally as impressive with McGlothin running 6.456 (6.45 dial) and a .015 package that forced Chamberlain to break out by just .003 seconds running 5.607 on the 5.61 dial.

In the No Box class it was Howard going eight rounds as he took out fellow Texas racer Michael Porcher running 6.426, 101.19 to Porcher’s quicker 6.354, 107.10. Howard and McGlothin have grown up together, racing in the Summit Jr. Drag Racing League prior to the Summit Series.

Hefler and Davis made it a clean sweep for the home state as Hefler knocked out Harry Barker for the win in Sportsman and Davis downed Derek Dorey in Motorcycle. Hefler took the early lead, forcing Barker to break out while Davis was better at both ends of the track to end Dorey’s day. This marks the fifth year that Hefler will advance to Pomona where he has raced to a pair of NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championships.

In the Race of Champions it was Bart Jetton leading the charge as he took out Jeff Riedel for the trophy in the Electronics class. Jetton went 4.820, 144.10 for the win to Riedel’s 6.520, 110.18. Jim Baughan and Brenda Kay joined Jetton in the winner’s circle picking up the wins in No Electronics and Motorcycle respectively. Baughan defeated Stephen Watson with a lap of 5.987, 114.84 in his ’37 Chevrolet and Kay raced to a 5.403, 125.12 mph lap for the win over her husband Rickey.

In the High School class Darian Boesch raced to the win over Chandler Howard and Dalton Lummas outran Morgan Wallaxe in the Jr. Street competition. The final trophy went to Garry Gilland in the Track Managers race.

The following are final results from the 2016 NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Finals:

Team Championship
1. Texas Motorplex 83
2. Royal Purple Raceway 65
3. Texas Raceway 50
4. Thunder Valley 46
5. Big Country 40
6. Osage Casino Tulsa Raceway 36
7. Hobbs Motorsports 36
8. Thunder Road 26
9. Paris Dragway 23
10. No Problem Raceway 13
11. Alien City 5

Max McGlothin, Frisco, Texas, '27 Roadster, 6.456, 113.64 def. Joe Chamberlain, Millersview, Texas, '01 Davis, 5.607, 132.28.

Joe Chamberlain, Millersview, Texas, '01 Davis, 5.626, 129.97 def. Ray Dunaway, Richland Hills, Texas, '56 Chevrolet, 5.610, 123.04.

Max McGlothin, Frisco, Texas, '27 Roadster, 6.488, 108.17 def. Daryl Hamlin Jr., Irving, Texas, '67 Chevy II, 6.438, 97.70.

Jake Howard, Lavon, Texas, dragster, 6.426, 101.19 def. Michael Porcher, Conroe, Texas, '88 S-10, 6.354, 107.10.

Jeff Hefler, Ft Worth, Texas, '65 Impala, 7.561, 84.65 def. Harry Barker, Chouteau, Okla., '05 SSR, 9.053, 79.09.

Tony Davis, Houston, Texas, '86 Suzuki, 5.994, 114.64 def. Derek Dorey, Kingwood, Texas, '03 Trac/razor, 5.667, 119.56.

Bart Jetton, Paris, Texas, '12 Mac Sherill, 4.820, 144.10 def. Jeff Riedel, N Richland Hills, Texas, '00 S-10, 6.520, 110.18.

Jim Baughan, Haslet, Texas, '37 Chevrolet, 5.987, 114.84 def. Stephen Watson, Joshua, Texas, '68 Camaro, foul.

Brenda Kay, Humble, Texas, '00 Mustang, 5.403, 125.12 def. Rickey Kay, Humble, Texas, '84 Mustang, 5.503, 124.34.

Darian Boesch, Keenner, La., '13 Truck, 10.542, 66.42 def. Chandler Howard, Norman, Okla., '94 Chevy P/U, 10.430, 63.95.

Dalton Lummas, China, Texas, '14 Chevy, 9.725, 68.80 def. Morgan Wallaxe, Grand Prairie, Texas, '15 Ford P/U, 10.426, 60.45.

Garry Gilland, dragster, 10.350, 67.66 def. Randy Boren, dragster, foul.

< < back > >

Information: scott@dragraceresults.com 208-739-2852
Information: nicole@dragraceresults.com
Advertisement: scott@dragraceresults.com
News & Info: news@dragraceresults.com

Site Design by the DragRaceResults.Com network

All material found on this site is ©1998 - 2024.
No reproduction of any kind is permitted
without the expressed written permission of DragRaceResults.com

Bombtrack Fabrication

R&R Auto Body

Fab Shop Headers

LB Trailers


Titan Powerglide Shifter


Dead On Racing Products

Renegade Racing Fuels

KB Carbs

Just-N-Time Button

Hanrahan Performance