Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals - Sportsman Results
Brainerd, MN
Share |

Jackie Fricke and Annie Whiteley led the list of winners in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series at Brainerd International Raceway and the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals followed by a slew of first time winners.
Fricke had her work cut out for her as Dean Dubbin was out first with a great .009 second reaction time in the Top Alcohol Dragster final round. But Fricke had the power all day running 5.20’s and 5.30’s with a 5.302 second pass at 269.24 in the final to power by Dubbin for the win and her third at the national event level.
Whiteley qualified number one and faced off with veteran Top Alcohol Funny Car pilot Jay Payne in the money round. Payne left first but had trouble at the hit of the throttle as Whiteley shot past with a 5.564, 267.37 mph lap for her second national event win of the season and sixth of her career.
Brian Johnson, Don Nichols, Jeff Crooks and Todd Fleck all grabbed their first NHRA National event win and famed Wally trophy. Johnson took the Super Stock title with a great 11.164 second run on the 11.16 dial to oust Jason DeForrest while Nichols lead from start to finish with a stellar .004 reaction time in Super Comp over Donald Leisdon.
Crooks ran it out to an 8.899, 160.04 for the Super Gas trophy after Tom Carlson left early with a foul start and Fleck scored his first win in his first final round in Top Dragster presented by Racing RVs when Ross Laris broke on the line. Fleck clocked in at 7.591, 154.30.
Defending event champion Ben Line continued his Brainerd reign taking the Stock title over Randi Lyn Shipp with a pass of 10.538 at 123.15 and J.R. Lobner extended his winning streak capturing the Top Sportsman presented by Racing RVs crown to go along with his win a week ago at the NHRA Lucas Oil divisional event at BIR. Lobner had the power and was better at the top end to nip Michael Freischel by about five inches.
Glenn Hall rounded out the winner’s circle taking the holeshot win against Matt Ernst in Pro Stock Snowmobile. Hall went 8.273, 155.79 to Ernst’s 8.242, 155.19.
The following are the final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd International Raceway:
Top Alcohol Dragster
Jackie Fricke, 5.302, 269.24 def. Dean Dubbin, 5.443, 264.86. 
Top Alcohol Funny Car
Annie Whiteley, Chevy Camaro, 5.564, 267.37 def. Jay Payne, Camaro, 11.980, 68.98. 
Super Stock
Brian Johnson, Plymouth Duster, 11.164, 116.68 def. Jason DeForrest, Chevy Cavalier, Foul - Red Light. 
Stock Eliminator
Ben Line, Ford Mustang, 10.538, 123.15 def. Randi Lyn Shipp, Pontiac Firebird, 10.679, 106.56. 
Super Comp
Don Nichols, Dragster, 8.899, 160.04 def. Donald Leisdon, Dragster, 8.877, 172.89. 
Super Gas
Jeff Crooks, Pontiac Firebird, 9.885, 151.87 def. Tom Carlson, Chevy Corvette, Foul - Red Light. 
Top Dragster presented by
Todd Fleck, Dragster, 7.591, 154.30 def. Ross Laris, Dragster, Broke. 
Top Sportsman presented by
J.R. Lobner, Olds Cutlass, 7.559, 178.31 def. Michael Freischel, Pontiac Firebird, 7.581, 180.89. 
Pro Stock Snowmobile
Glenn Hall, Arctic Cat, 8.273, 155.70 def. Matt Ernst, Arctic Cat, 8.242, 155.19. 

< < back > >